Paperback Ó Cover of Snow PDF Î Cover of PDF \

Cover of Snow WINNER OF THE MARY HIGGINS CLARK AWARDJenny Milchman s Cover of Snow is a remarkable debut, a gripping tale of suspense in the tradition of Gillian Flynn, Chris Bohjalian, and Nancy Pickard Waking up one wintry morning in her old farmhouse nestled in the Adirondack Mountains of New York, Nora Hamilton instantly knows that something is wrong When her fog of sleep clears, she finds her world is suddenly, irretrievably shattered Her husband, Brendan, has committed suicideThe first few hours following Nora s devastating discovery pass for her in a blur of numbness and disbelief Then, a disturbing awareness slowly settles in Brendan left no note and gave no indication that he was contemplating taking his own life Why would a rock solid police officer with unwavering affection for his wife, job, and quaint hometown suddenly choose to end it all Having spent a lifetime avoiding hard truths, Nora must now start facing themUnraveling her late husband s final days, Nora searches for an explanation but finds a bewildering resistance from Brendan s best friend and partner, his fellow police officers, and his brittle mother It quickly becomes clear to Nora that she is asking questions no one wants to answer For beneath the soft cover of snow lies a powerful conspiracy that will stop at nothing to keep its presence unknown and its darkest secrets hiddenPraise for Cover of Snow Well defined characters take us on an emotional roller coaster ride through the darkest night, with blinding twists and occasionally fatal turns This is a richly woven story that not only looks at the devastating effects of suicide but also examines life in a small town and explores the complexity of marriage Fans of Nancy Pickard, Margaret Maron, and C J Box will be delighted to find this new author Booklist starred review Milchman reveals an intimate knowledge of the psychology of grief, along with a painterly gift for converting frozen feelings into scenes of a forbidding winter landscape The New York Times Milchman makes readers feel the chill right down to their bones and casts a particularly effective mood in this stylish thriller Kirkus Reviews Milchman tackles small town angst where evil can simmer under the surface with a breathless energy and a feel for realistic characters The Seattle Times The plot unfolds at an excellent clip ultimately rushing headlong to a series of startling revelations San Francisco Journal of Books Milchman expertly conveys Nora s grief in a way that will warm hearts even in the dead of a Wedeskyull winter Publishers Weekly starred review From the Hardcover edition


10 thoughts on “Cover of Snow

  1. Chad Sayban Chad Sayban says:

    When Nora Hamilton awakes one snowy morning to find her police officer husband, Brendan, hanging from a rope from an apparent suicide, her whole world is shattered Slowly, Nora tries to piece together what could have driven her otherwise happy husband to do such a thing But when she starts asking questions, a lot of people in the cozy Adirondack Mountain town want her to stop And a few are wil


  2. Carmen Carmen says:

    My car crunched over the combination of salt, pebbles, and grit that served as a parking lot I avoided the gas pump, pulling into a space a fair distance from the row of gray cop cars Their shadowy forms made my red car look like the afterimage of some alien sun.Nora wakes up to a cold bed one morning, dazed and wondering where her husband is, he s missing on a workday and after a night of gre


  3. Vegantrav Vegantrav says:

    I very much wanted to like Cover of Snow I really did, and so despite my doubts continuing to mount as I readand , I persevered to the end, to the bitter end TheI read, theof a chore reading this book became It started out so promisingly and ended so disappointingly.This is a debut novel, and it certainly shows As I read, I kept wondering are there no editors at Ballantine Books Cover of Snow as


  4. Jill Jill says:

    Some of the writing in this book shows that the author may have a good story inside of her yet, but this particular book isn t it.Nora Hamilton, 35, wakes up one morning to find out her husband hasn t woken her up AND he hasn t made her coffee Oh, and incidentally he killed himself the night before No, it wasn t because he was tired of waiting on his wife, but the real reason which we don t disco


  5. Krystin Rachel Krystin Rachel says:

    I just spent a chunk of my evening writing a thoughtful review for a book I actually liked, so I m going to keep this short andbitterbecause I just don t have it in me to write anything thoughtful for something I found so effing boring me, listening to this audiobook Nora wakes up one snowy morning to find that her police officer husband has hanged himself But she refuses to believe he would have


  6. Jill Jill says:

    3.5 starsDebutNora Hamilton wakes up alone one morning to discover her husband Brendan, a cop has committed suicide, leaving no note or indication that he was depressed or suicidal When the initial shock, disbelief and grief begin to fade, Nora investigates what could possibly have driven her husband to hang himself They were in love and with no pressing concerns When Nora starts to ask questions,


  7. Cynthia Cynthia says:

    Just short of five starsWhat a page turner This is one of those books you decide to read a few pages in before falling asleep and several hours later you re still reading until sleep attacks It s frigid, set in an upstate New York small town winter Everyone knows everyone else Many people grew up in the small town of Wedeskyull where it s set though Nora only moves there after she marries her colleg


  8. Shelby *trains flying monkeys* Shelby *trains flying monkeys* says:

    I can t do it This book makes no sense what so ever.


  9. Susan Johnson Susan Johnson says:

    I wanted to like this book because it had an interesting premise but it never lived up to its promise I have tried to put my finger on it and I think that the characters are not fully developed You never really root for Nora because there s really no reason to get in her corner.Nora s husband commits suicide and she tries to find out why It s a natural reaction She discovers he got a sleeping pill the


  10. Bern Bern says:

    This book was the most hideous exercise in thriller writing I have ever bore witness to The writing was very stilted and clipped, the descriptions felt crude and abrupt, and it just was extremely amateurish overall The mystery wasn t enticing, the characters felt like cartoonish versions of actual people, and there were tons of convenience to go around and not in a forgivable way.I was so bored midway


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *